Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

North Tama Elementary announces 2011-12 award winners

June 14, 2012
Ross Bercik - Managing Editor , Traer Star-Clipper

The North Tama Elementary School announced its list of award winners this week, with several outstanding students receiving a variety of honors.

The 2012 Presidential Fitness Award winners were Tessa Dvorak, Cory Kennedy, Lydia Schafer, Lucy Panfil, Brett Podhajsky, Lydia Ketter, Andrea Ubben and Claire Schafer.

There were three sets of Make A Splash winners, with Kaitlyn Calderwood and Jesse Ford taking the honor from the K-6 group. Dalton Kucera and Levi Zobel won the K-3 group, and Carlie Gorder and Hope Brubaker were the recipients in the 4-6 group.

One of the newer awards is the Conflict Manager Award, which began with North Tama's new conflict management program. The program teaches students effective ways to manage disagreements and allows them to take a more proactive approach to solving problems, as opposed to the traditional model of teachers simply dealing out punishment.

The program was one of the things the teachers who visited from Rome were most impressed with during their stay in Traer.

The two year winners are: Lexie Bradley, Andrea Ubben, Conway Feisel, Tim Jones, Shelby McKinley, Clowey Stammer, Brett Podhajsky, Jimmy Reese, Cory Kennedy, Michael Krienert, Ryan Waller, Cole Brandvig, Trinity Grimm, Claire Schafer, Carlie Johanningmeier, Tessa Dvorak, Liberty Catron, Lydia Ketter, Layne Wauters, Trevor Carroll, Spencer Larsen, Nick Sieraa, Lucy Panfil, Kassidy Kupka, Lydia Schafer, Olivia Schrier, Holly Rigel, Lance Zobel, Jacob Lawton, Brittany Thielan, Amber Fink, Keegan Rohlfson and Derek Weber.

There were also many one year winners of the Conflict Manager Award, including Remington Wilimek, Aubrey Payne, Nicholas Jones, Madeline Butts, Kendra TeBeest, Connor Casto, Ethan Deegan, Caleb De Boef, Tyler Morrison, Molly Kvidera, Chloe Feisel, Jack Dostal, Cameron Grimm, Natalie Urban, Olivia Jones, Parker Hulme, Garrett Fuller, Travis Waller, Hale Hulmet, Luke Jampoler, Madelyn Williams, Emma Scherrer, Zach Ambrose, Chase Morrison, Hope Brubaker, Carissa Calderwood, Cael Even, Kameron Bergen, Noah Bond, Zade Podhajsky, Dylan Delley, Jade Potter, Izach Henson, Chance Hulme, Karly Jans, Carter Pokorny and Wyatt Lunde.

The awards in Mrs. Daugherty's class for the 2011-12 school year included those honored for Counting to 100, which included: Molly Anfinson, Jared Dvorak, Kinsley Even, Brandon Ewoldt, Todd Hovatter, Jamie Jacobs, Olivia Kisner, Landon Kucera, Emma McKiernan, Faith Perry, Tyler Popelka, Presten Rector, Vance Wirtz and Riley Zook.

Those same students were also able to Identify All the Letters, and were named to that award list. The award for Outstanding Attendance in Mrs. Daugherty's class went to Faith Perry.

Likewise, Mrs. Turner's Kindergarten class also had students recognized for their attendance, including Cannedy Unker, Dacey Powell, Larissa Morrison and Drake Podhajsky.

The awards for Identifying All the Letters and Counting to 100 were given to Daytona Dunkel, Cannedy Unker, Kolton Krienert, Case Monat, Dalton Hegarty, Isabel Hallett, Kaidon Cannon, Tasia Eicher, Jesse Friestad, Alex Meggers, Larissa Morrison, Makenzie Parizek, Drake Podhajsky, Dacey Powell, Lydia Taylor and Triston Toulouse.

The First Grade Awards in Mrs. Watson's class went to Hunter Finzen, Madison McKee and Levi Zobel for Outstanding Attendance.

Students able to count by 1s, 2s, 5s and 10s are: Clayton Boldt, Kalial Coclough, Hunter Finze, Lizzie Friestad, LeAdyn Hatcher, Grace Lidgett, Madison McKee, Logan Ragan Madi Schults, Erin Sealock, Austin Still, Faith Tremmel, Joey Unker, BElla Wetzel, Trent Whitmoe and Levi Zobel.

Outstanding Spelling awards (90% or higher over all spelling words) went to Clayton Boldt, Kalial Coclough, Hunter, Finzen, Lizzie Friestad, Grace Lidgett, Madison McKee, Madi Schults, Erin Sealock, Austin Still, Faith Tremmel, Bella Wetzel and Levi Zobel.

In Mrs. Lidgett's 1st grade class, Mikayla Bradley, Lucas DeBoef, Lilka Jampoler, Olivia Ketter, Bryce Lofquist and Logan Siemens received the Outstanding Attendance awards.

The counting awards went to Mikayla Bradley, Lucas DeBoef, Haley Glaza, Ireland Harmsen, Steven Jacobs, Lilka Jampoler, Brooklyn Johanningmeier, Olivia Ketter, Bryce Lofquist, Ella McKiernan, Jadyn Rausch, Jack Schafer, Michael Schrier, Breanna Sebetka, Logan Siemens, Ayden Staker, Jackson Weber and Brynn Whitmore.

The spelling award winners from that class were Haley Glaza, Ireland Harmsen, Steven Jacobs, Lilka Jampoler, Brooklyn Johanningmeier, Ella McKiernan, Jadyn Rausch, Jack Schafer, Michael Schrier, Breanna Sebetka, Logan Siemens and Ayden Staker.

Mrs. Daub's second grade class awarded students for Outstanding Math Facts (100 addiditon and subtraction within five minutes) to Jules Breakenridge, Kaitlyn Calderwood, Landon Witz, Cale Bradley, Kirstan Jans, Nathen Kucera, Ashton Mauderer, Grant Mettlin, Aubree Monat, Cael Stoneking and Aaron Waller.

The Outstanding Spelling Award went to Cale Bradley, Kirstan Jans, Nathan Kucera, Shanin Sebetka, Cael Stoneking, Landon Wirtz, Kaitlyn Calderwood and Austin Waller. Aaron Waller was the Spelling Bee Champion.

The Award for Outstanding Reading was given to Cale Bradley, Jules Breakenridge, Kaitlyn Calderwood, Kirstan Jans, Gabe Kopriva, Nathan Kucera, Ashton Mauderer, Devin McKinley, Grant Mettlin, Aubree Monat, Landon Monroe, Shanin Sebetka, Joe Stacey, Cael Stoneking, Isabella Urban, Aaron Waller and Landon Wirtz.

The Traer Star-Clipper will have the 3rd through 6th grade winners listed in next week's edition.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web