Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Kubik-Finch #142 installs officers, hosts Owens

August 9, 2012
Traer Star-Clipper

The American Legion Auxiliary met at 7 p.m. on July 17, 2012. President Irene Hanus opened the meeting with the pledge to the flag said by all. The Star-Spangled Banner was sung with Sharon Allen at the piano. Jean Beenken gave the prayer. 21 members were in attendance, with eight officers answering the roll call.

Jean Kruse and Joyce Hite were in charge of our Girl Stater and they introduced Mallory Owens. Mallory gave a very interesting report on her activities in Ames. She was very happy to have the opportunity to go. Thank you to Mallory. It sounds like you had a very good times, and we were happy to be able to send you!

Karen Podhajsky motioned to order ten bronze memorial plaques for the cemetery. They are five inches across and 18 inches tall at $29.95 each. Diana Owens seconded it, and the motion carried.

Article Photos

Kubik Finch #142 installed officers at the July meeting at the Memorial Building.  New officers for 2012-2013 are: Diane Owens, President; Irene Hanus, Vice-President; Verona Staker, Secretary; Kathryn Manfull, Treasurer; Karen Podhajsky, Chaplain & Membership; Arlene Schmidt, Historian.  Audrey Babinat is Sgt of Arms, but was not present at the meeting. 

2013 membership dues are $20 for senior members and $3 for junior members.

The song Happy Birthday was to Joyce Hite, Mallory Owens and Delores Yuska with July birthdays. Connie Owens won the door prize.

Arlene Schmidt sent a pad around for help with the Bloodmobile cookies, crakers & cheese, sausage and root beer floats were served July 19 at the Memorial Bulding.

Evelyn Caloud installed the new officers: Diane Owens, president; Irene Hanus, vice president; Verona Staker, recording secretary, Irene Hanus, corresponding secretary; Kathy Manfull, treasurer; Karen Podhajsky, chaplain; Arlene Schmidt, historian; Audrey Babinat, seargant-at-arms; LeeAnn Cluta, junior chairman; Irene Hanus, Arlene Schmidt and Verene Vorba are on the executive board.

Jean Beenken said a closing prayer. All sang God Bless America. The meeting was adjourned after a yummy dessert provided by Darlene McWhirter and Delores Caslavka.

The next meeting will be our August potluck at 6 p.m. Please bring a covered dish and your own table service. Ardene Staker and Cindy Dinsdale will be hostesses.

Keep praying for our military men and women. For God & country.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web