Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Redhawk athletes honored at 2012 Fall Sports Kickoff

August 23, 2012
Ross Bercik - Managing Editor , Traer Star-Clipper

The North Tama Redhawk Recognition Night honored several athletic and academic achievements before the annual Red & White Game on August 9.

The award for Outstanding Junior or Senior Female Athlete went to Kailey Kladivo, who beat out Sydney Fehr and Allison Zobel.

The Bruce Erickson Award for the most outstanding junior or senior male athlete was presented to Mitchell Boerm. Dalton Hulme, Brian Seda, Jacob Watson and Jacob Wrage were also nominated.

The Kent Vesely Award for outstanding freshman or sophomore athlete was presented to Brandon Kaufman, who beat out Omar Martinez for the honor. The Tonya Rickert Award for outstanding freshman or sophomore female athlete went to Josie Youel. Sara Howard, Shayla Kopriva, Anna Kvidera and Abi Watson were also nominated.

The Bernie Saggeu Award went to Kailey Kladivo, who was also the recipient of E. Wayne Colley Scholarship Award.

The academic awards went to several of the teams who achieved lofty goals in the classroom. The 2012 softball team earned the rank of Distinguished in Academic Achievement, maintaining an average GPA above 3.61.

Teams earning the Excellent rating were: 2011 cross country, 2011 volleyball, 2011-12 girls basketball, 2012 girls track and 2012 baseball. The cross country, volleyball, girls basketball and girls track teams all had an average GPA between 3.20 and 3.60. The baseball team had a GPA between 3.00 and 3.24.

Athletically, the Redhawks also had several state tournament participants across a wide range of sporting events. The 2012 baseball team made the state tournament for the first time in over a decade.

On the girls side, Emily Pargeon, Olivia Pargeon, Destany Himschoot, Kristina Martinez, Shayla Kopriva and Hannah Mesch qualified for state in girls soccer during the 2011 season.

The girls track team had several outstanding performers this year, with Nicole Schlichting and Kailey Kladivo both setting school records in their events. Schlichting threw the shot put for 35' 2.5", and Kladivo notched a 5' 8.25" leap in the high jump.

Abi Watson qualified for state in the 3000 meter run, and the girls distance medley team of Watson, Josie Youel, Anna Kvidera and Jessi Jacobs also qualified for the state competition.

The boys track team also sent participants to Des Moines, with Mitchell Boerm qualifying in the high jump. The 4x800 meter relay team of Omar Martinez, Jacob Watson, Jordan Mask and Dalton Hulme also made it to state. The 1600 medley relay team of Boern, Watson, Hulme and Clayton Blocker was the other group recognized.

The participants and programs for the fall 2012 season were also recognized. Cheerleading coach this year was announced as Tina Schlichting, but since the ceremony, a change has been made. Due to scheduling conflicts, Suzanne Earley will now be the cheerleading coach this year.

The dance team is led by sponsor Becky Adams. Cross country coach will be Mike Skopec. Volleyball will be led by coach Stan Upah, and assistant coaches Angie Beenken and Channing Merchant.

This year's football team is assisted by first-year head coach Dan Oltman, along with Tom McDermott, Kurt Boerm, Cory Miner, Jack Halupnick, Dan Schmitt, Rick Samuelson and Shane Wetzel.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web