Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

New names & faces in local races

October 4, 2013
Traer Star-Clipper


Mayor Pete Holden is unopposed for reelection to a two-year term in Traer. Craig Josh Youel and Stephen Foster are seeking four-year council terms.


Three incumbents are seeking reelection and a fourth candidate is in the running for three, four-year city council terms in Dysart. Current council members Bret D. Hennessy, Tom W. Brandt and Tim Glenn are joined by Al C. Schafbuch in seeking seats.


In a race for Mayor of Clutier, Gordon Fassett faces Phillip Clark Breja. The post is a two-year term.

There will be four candidates on the ballot for five spots on the Clutier Council. Incumbent Linda Pearson is joined by Krista Walker, Barbara Baseman and Blake Pearson. A write-in will fill the fifth spot.


No candidates have filed for three at-large seats in Montour. The four-year terms will be filled by write-in.


A write-in candidate will win the mayor's seat in Elberon. Seeking four-year council terms are Nancy Braasch and Faye Fisher. A third seat for a four-year term and a vacant two-year term will be filled by write-in vote.


No candidate has filed nomination papers for mayor. As a result a write-in will be elected Garwin Mayor.

Two candidates are seeking the two four-year council terms in Garwin. They are Dean Brittenham and Matt DeSchamp.


Gladbrook Mayor Keith Sash is seeking reelection unopposed. Incumbents for three at-large council seats, Roger Luehring and Betty Dahms are seeking reelection and Ben Goos is also in the running.


Incumbent council member Herbert Trent Wentzien is seeking the Lincoln mayor's post unopposed.

Council members seeking reelection to two-year terms are Michelle Clark, John Eilers and Vance Sebbert. Two council positions will be filed by write-in.



Chelsea voters will decide whether to stagger city council terms beginning in 2015.

Currently all five Chelsea council members are elected for two-year terms.

Under the proposed public measure, the top three vote-getters in 2013 would have their posts back on the ballot in2015 for four-year terms.

The other two seats would be for two-year terms on the 2015 Chelsea city ballot, then be for four-year terms in 2017.


In Clutier, a measure to reduce the number of library trustees from nine to seven will be on the ballot.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web