Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Annual meeting of Traer Historical Museum

May 2, 2014
Traer Star-Clipper

Thousands of hours of work were represented at the Traer Historical Museum annual meeting Thursday, April 24. On hand were board members of the museum spanning two and a half decades, including 5 of the 6 original board members who began with a reorganized Traer Museum, Inc. in 1989.

Jared and Marilyn Bauch, Dick and Mary Lou Dahms, and Jane Knoop were present to share the experience of starting the THM with meager funds and lots of work to do. Board members shared stories of the extensive hours put in getting the old Farmers Mercantile building presentable, and acquiring historical items to display. Tales of getting stuck in the freight elevator, piecing the huge stairway from the old convalescent home, and hauling water to put on a Soup Supper fundraiser drew smiles from the audience. Past board members also recognized were Russ Presley, Sandra Whannel, Craig Earley, Bruce Morrison, Yvette Berner, Joan Reuman, Mary Ellen Barnes, Ellen Young, Gordon Robb, and Bob Steffeny. Other past board members unable to attend were Donna Young, Dave McMillan, Lora McMillan, Lee Wiges, Don Lau, Terry Edwards, Joey Podhajsky, Sandy Flickinger, John Novak, Linda Podhajsky, Cecilia Podhajsky, Lynn Gruchow, Ed Stoakes, Jolene Holden, Linda Podhajsky, Tracey Huskstep, and Becky Adams. Deceased past board members are Rodger Knoop, Evan Wilson, Jeannine Smentek, Kenneth Sears, and Treasurer Marjorie Ruzicka.

The business meeting was called to order by President Tony Weida. The minutes of the previous annual meeting were read and approved. Secretary Sharon Stoakes read a summary of the 2013-2014 museum year events including updated displays, computer and inventory software purchases, and the "Tama Jim" Exhibit grand opening. A list of items the museum board would like to improve and goals to accomplish was shared, including oral histories begun, roof and Winding Stair maintenance, and remodeling for a handicap restroom. Board members re-elected to a second term were Elsa Weida, Dr. Tom Wicks, and Christy Wicks. The board is still looking for additional members. Anyone interested in helping with future projects or serving on the board, please contact any following board member: Tony Weida , Dr. Tom Wicks, Christy Wicks, Judy Robb, Sharon Stoakes, Sharon Bolt, Elsa Weida, Carol Stansbery.

After the meeting was adjourned, refreshments were served. Museum members enjoyed looking at the display celebrating the 25 years of the museums existence.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web